Inside My Makeup Bag: Kimberly Roberson, Makeup Writer

By Kimberly Roberson, as told to Jadée Nikita

(Originally Posted on Fly Gyal)

3 Things I Never Leave the House Without:

As a makeup fanatic and makeup artist, it’s hard to narrow it down to just three items I never leave the house without. I keep everything I might need throughout the day in my favorite Henri Bendel duo-sided makeup bag:

Kimberly's Makeup Bag

For makeup fanatics and mavens, this bag is perfect if you need to carry more than three items. Beautifully crafted, complete with the Henri Bendel signature brown and white stripes and heavy-duty hardware, the entire bag is protected with strong vinyl. The vinyl feature allows you to easily cleanup  any makeup mishaps (with a cleaning wipe) that may occur during transport, or while rummaging through your handbag. (Who hasn’t had a broken face powder or un-capped lipstick?) The makeup bag fits in dance bags and medium to large sized handbags, it can be used for a multitude of organizational needs in your handbag, if you prefer not to use it for makeup storage.

The makeup bag un-folds, revealing two generous compartments. I personally like to divide mine with powders and eye products on one side, and the other side holds my lip products.

Kimberly's Makeup Bag (Opened)

The contents of my makeup bag changes on a week-to-week basis, sometimes day-to-day basis. It all depends on my makeup mood, and if I can actually remember to rotate my products. At the end of most weeks, I end up having 7 different lipsticks, coordinating lip pencils, eyeshadows, or a couple brushes. But hey! It all fits!

Kimberly's Makeup

SInce I can’t really narrow down three products I can’t ever leave the house without, I will narrow the contents of my makeup bag to three categories:

FACE:

M.A.C. Select Sheer Pressed Powder and Blot Powder. Ideally, I would normally use a tissue or oil blotter to blot my face and then powder with the blot powder. But for days where I need a little more coverage, I opt for M.A.C. Select Sheer Pressed Powder.

I like to keep a blush on hand as well. Touching up makeup sometimes decreases the intensity of your blush, so it’s best to have it in your purse should the situation arise. The blush in the picture is M.A.C.’s Mineralize Blush in Sweet Samba (Limited Edition, no longer available).

EYES:

M.A.C. Technakohl Liner in Graphblack– so far the best, budgeproof eyeliner I have ever used. I keep back-ups of this eyeliner in my personal vanity and my professional makeup kit.

I also keep brown eyeliners which help soften the look of black eyeliner, should I need to touch up. The eyeliners shown in the picture are M.A.C.’s Eye Kohl Orpheus (Limited Edition, no longer available) and Powerpoint Eye Pencil in Stubborn Brown.

Lastly for eyes, I keep Revlon’s Precision Ready Lash Adhesive handy in my purse, no one looks cute with a half-on-half-off false eyelash. I love the brush on this adhesive, it makes quick fixes a breeze.

LIPS
Typically, I keep my C.O. Bigelow Mentha Supreme 2X (Spearmint) that I use as a lip balm, and whichever color lipstick or gloss I am wearing that day. This week, I have managed to accumulate the following in my makeup bag:
(Lip Products listed from left to right in picture above)
-M.A.C. Underdressed Lipglass (Limited Edition, no longer available)
-M.A.C Fever Isle Cremesheen Glass (Limited Edition, no longer available)
In addition, I keep lip pencils on hand as well, as lipstick or gloss never quite performs just as right as it would with a lip pencil. The lip pencils I have in the picture are M.A.C. Cherry Lipliner and M.A.C. Soar.
Cover Photo Via Oils Wood Stone
