Makeup Artist Myth #4: Selling Makeup Means You’re a Makeup Artist…NOT.

Ok, before I start, I will say that there are plenty of actual successful makeup artists who do work at cosmetic counters or are brand ambassadors, I myself am an ambassador for Beauty Society as a “Diva.” This post is not about those artists, it’s about certain sales people or self-proclaimed “makeup artists” who only have knowledge of doing makeup on themselves, with no real skill, portfolio, credits, or experience.

Soooo…Are you a REAL Makeup Artist?
1. If you are an individual who makes a LIVING commission off of cosmetic sales or views per click on your YouTube channel–without a valid portfolio,  you are not a makeup artist.

2. If you offer “Free makeovers” or “Free Bridal Sessions” in the hopes that the makeup session will succeed in product sales- or that you, yourself are not applying makeup on the client, because of certain “restrictions” the company you are with forbids you to do so, you are not a makeup artist.

3. If you do not have a separate professional artistry website from your retail website-that displays actual photographs of your work with professional models, photographers and/or projects that you have actually worked on, you are not a makeup artist.

4. If you “recruit” every client you “do makeup” on to your sales team, you are not a makeup artist.

5. If these terms do not make any sense to you: basic color theory, how to adjust makeup for any lighting, set bag, different types of blending techniques (i.e. transitional blending), period makeup, deal memo, corrective beauty, or brush handling..you are not a makeup artist.

6. If you sanitize your makeup brushes with your company’s “best selling” facial cleanser, you are not a makeup artist.

I apologize if the above statements seem harsh, but if you relate to more than 2 of the statements above, please do not refer to yourself as a makeup artist. You are a sales person. Your title should be “Sales Consultant with **** ***” Or if you are a “Beauty Guru” on YouTube, unless you have a real portfolio, and a different life other than filming yourself, by all means, call yourself a makeup artist.

I know a lot of people actually do get started in makeup artistry as a sales person with a cosmetics company, I did so myself. But when I realized I loved applying makeup and letting my creative side loose, I decided to drop the selling and focus on making people look beautiful. Honestly, I felt like I was lying to people when I was with a certain company, and in the end, I didn’t believe in their product.
I hardly used it in my actual professional kit. In the end, it wasn’t about the products, it was about getting as many people on your team. That left a bad taste in my mouth.

But..as a matter of fact, I know several talented artists who stay with a beauty company simply because they love the company, or for the income. They progressed in their makeup artistry careers and became top regional artists in the company. Years later, I became a “Diva” with Beauty Society due to the requests of my clients asking to purchase actual items in my kit. I wanted to make sure it was a company I could be proud to represent, both in reputation and quality of products. I looked at it as a way to fill my customers wants/needs, without having to meet a “quota” or be pressured to place a huge inventory order.

A word of advice to the cosmetic sales people and “gurus,”  if you really are wanting to become a makeup artist: Learn from a real, working, successful makeup artist. There are artists in every state that offer workshops periodically, and might even let you tag along as an assistant on their projects. All it takes is the power of Google or Facebook to find someone who would be willing to help you achieve your goal as a REAL makeup artist.
If you are an aspiring makeup artist in the DC Metro Area (DMV), I am hosting a workshop with Master Makeup Artist Maria Rivera, who will be travelling all the way from Los Angeles, California to teach makeup artistry and help you with your new makeup career. Click here to find out more: https://fabulouslykimberly.wordpress.com/events/

This concludes the last of the “Makeup Artist Myths” series. I hope everyone found this series informative, and helpful…Happy Blending!

